Text Size
Small Text

2013 Interweave Sermon Contest

Each year, the Interweave Continental Sermon Contest rewards the best sermon in support of LGBTQ issues. Entries must have been first preached before a UU congregation or in a seminary setting between April 1 of the previous year and April 1 of the current year. There is a $250 prize for the winner.

Sermons for the 2013 award are now being accepted for submission.  The deadline for submission is April 30, 2013. Sermons can be submitted by the sermon author or another individual via email to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it   (Using this address allows the sermons to be passed on to the reviewers anonymously.)  Please include the following language with your submission:  “Whether or not my sermon wins the Interweave Continental Sermon Contest, I grant non-exclusive permission for Interweave to publish this sermon.”

The award for best sermon will be presented at the annual Interweave Continental banquet planned for the June 2013 General Assembly in Louisville, Kentucky. 

Questions about the sermon contest may be addressed to:  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


2012erin splaine

Interweave Continental is pleased to announce the winner of this year’s sermon contest is the Rev. Erin Splaine. Rev.Splaine delivered her sermon, "The Fierce Urgency of Now" at the First Unitarian Society in Newton, MA. The sermon is a response to the Presidential administration’s refusal to sign an executive order to ban discrimination against federally contracted GLBTQI employees in favor of waiting for ENDA to be passed legislatively. Rev. Splaine movingly asks us to reflect on how often GLBTQI people have been asked to wait, a little longer, for equal treatment under the law. How long, she asks us, is long enough? 2 years? (Grassroots march for equality in DC) 8 years? (Equal marriage in MA) 47 years? (Stonewall) 88 years? (1st Gay rights organization in Chicago) We have been waiting long enough. Now is the time!

Each sermon is used on this site by permission of the author. To use it elsewhere, contact the author for permission.





Previous Winners

  • 2004: Barbara Hamilton-Holway
  • 2003: "Living with Courage in the Face of Fear", Deborah A. Rudolph
  • 2002: "Straight Talk on Queer Issues", Art Brewer
  • 2000: Kathleen Ellis
  • 1996: "Living Out Loud", Jory Agate
  • 1994: "Gay Liberation for Straight People", Kate Rohde