Text Size
Small Text

Interweave: Mark DeWolfe Award

 2013 Mark DeWolfe Award

Interweave Continental is now accepting applications and nominations for the 2013 Mark DeWolfe Award. 

Interweave Continental confers the Mark DeWolfe Award each year on a Unitarian Universalist who has substantially contributed to improving the lives of BGILTQQ people, whether in or outside of Unitarian Universalist settings.  This award was established to honor the memory of the Rev. Mark DeWolfe, the first openly gay minister in the Unitarian Universalist Association to serve a congregation.

Nominations for the Mark DeWolfe Award should include the following elements:

  1. name of the nominee
  2. nominee’s telephone number and e-mail address
  3. name of the nominee’s Unitarian Universalist congregation
  4. narrative description (two page maximum) of the ways in which the nominee has substantially contributes to Improvements for BGILTQQ people, inside or outside of Unitarian Universalist settings

Individuals may nominate themselves or someone else; if nominating someone else, the nominator should also include his or her name, telephone number and e-mail address in the nomination document.

Nominations should be submitted in electronic form to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

Nominations must be received by April 30, 2013 in order to be considered for this year's award. 

Please contact DeWolfe Award Coordinator J. David Macey, Jr. at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it if you have questions or require further information.


Previous recipients of the award include:

Adam W Hackel

  • 2012: Dr. Adam Hackel: amember of the BuxMontUnitarian Universalist Fellowship and the Band Director for Montgomery Middle School Upper Campus in Skillman,  NJ,  has been selected as the recipient of the 2012 Mark DeWolfe Award. Dr. Hackel, who works with Gay-Straight Alliances (GSAs) and with the Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network (GLSEN) at the state and national levels, is a tireless and effective advocate of safe schools for all students, regardless of their sexual orientation or gender identity.

  • 2007: Rev. Sean Dennison
  • 2006: Bobbi Keppel
  • 2005: Patricia Kolodney
  • 2004: UU Plaintiffs in MA Marriage Case (Linda Davies & Gloria Bailey; Rich Linnell & Gary Chalmers; Rob Compton & David Wilson; Hillary Goodridge)
  • 2003: Lori Lipman-Brown
  • 2002: Stan Calder
  • 2001: Jerry Knasel
  • 2000: Al Usack
  • 1999: Lorna Carmer
  • 1998: Frank Robertson
  • 1997: Ed Kobee
  • 1996: Joe Norton